Andaman Islands

Sponsored Link

Andaman Islands - Barren Island, Great Andaman, Little Andaman, Ritchie's Archipelago, Sentinel Islands.

Barren Island – It’s an island uninhabited by humans. The harsh conditions make it unbearable for humans. You can find goats, birds, flying foxes and a few rodents. It is the only confirmed active volcano in South Asia. It’s 135 km from Port Blair. The first volcanic explosions date back to 1787.

Great Andaman, the main archipelago of the Andaman Islands comprises five major islands - North Andaman, Middle Andaman, South Andaman, Baratang and Rutland Island. The islands' capital, Port Blair, is situated in the archipelago. The original inhabitants of the islands are called Andmanese. They can be seen in most of the islands, while some of them have moved further inside the islands’ interiors.

Little Andaman is the fourth largest of the Andaman Islands. It lies to the southern end of the group of islands. It is home to the Onge tribe. It was converted to a tribal reserve in the year 1957. The island has huge areas of rainforest and is home to several rare species of the marine turtle.

Ritchie’s Archipelago is a cluster of smaller islands. It lies about 30 km east of Great Andaman. This archipelago is named after an 18th century British marine surveyor, John Ritchie. He had spent almost two decades charting and documenting the Andamans and surrounding areas.
Some of the islands in the archipelago are: Havelock Island, Sir William Peel Island, Wilson Island , Neil Island, Sir Hugh Rose Island and South Button Island

There are two Sentinel islands – north and south. The North Sentinel Island is home to the Sentinelese, its indigenous people. They are very few in number and refuse any contact with other people. They are untouched by modern civilisation and live self sufficiently on the island.

The South Sentinel Island is much smaller than its counterpart, North Sentinel Island. It’s located to the north west of Little Andaman Island in the Bay of Bengal. The South Sentinel Island is made up of forests and the surrounding seas, of coral reef. The island is uninhabited but is sometimes used by divers. There is an old and unmanned lighthouse.

Back to List Of Indian Islands