Aegean Sea

It’s a section of the Mediterranean Sea and is situated between the southern Balkan and Anatolian peninsulas which means, between Greece and Turkey. The Aegean Region, Turkey, consists of nine provinces in southwestern Turkey.

The Aegean Sea was invaded and occupied by Persians and the Romans, and inhabited by the Byzantine Empire, the Venetians, the Seljuk Turks, and the Ottoman Empire at various eras. Some of the islands that are part of the Aegean Islands are Antikythera, Crete, Kasos, Karpathos, Kythera, and Rhodes.

There are more islands and islets and many gulf belonging to different countries. Sailing is a sport and an important activity on most of the Aegean Islands. Depending on which country it belongs to, the islands provide an array of facilities for sailing and yachting

Sponsored Link

Back to Yachts Destination